top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEllie Emmerton

getting tested

I remember when I was first getting tested my mum took me into the doctors to have a talk, when I reached the doors I didn’t want to go in, mum tried pulling me in and telling me we had to go in for a quick talk but I did not want to go. I stood at the doors of the doctors and screamed and screamed, I even sat in the gutter out front for a while. My face was all red and blotchy from yelling and my doctor walked out, sat in the gutter next to me with two plates of chocolate cake in his hands and he gave one to me and started eating his. Eventually after we talked, I walked into the doctors with him and went and sat down in his office. I don’t think I’ll ever forget that day, my mum was overwhelmed and confused I think she always knew but I think that day in particular it came clear to her. I wasn't your neurotypical kid!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

living with a disability

“Autism is a developmental disorder of variable severity that is characterized by difficulty in social interaction and communication and by restricted or repetitive patterns of thought and behavior.”

bottom of page