top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEllie Emmerton

living with a disability

Updated: May 20, 2020

“Autism is a developmental disorder of variable severity that is characterized by difficulty in social interaction and communication and by restricted or repetitive patterns of thought and behavior.”

Growing up with autism was difficult, everything upset me. Basic things like tags on my clothes or loud noises or bright lights. I’d start getting really annoyed, maybe start breathing a lot heavier than usual and then out of nowhere I’d start crying, then screaming, no one really could ever understand what was going on or why. People never really understood but in times of a meltdown I didn’t want attention, I didn’t want people to come over and ask,

“are you okay?”

no! I needed space, time, quiet.

I needed to be left alone. Something basic but probably the most important, the sounds of voices or questions made me more and more upset.

Sometimes if my senses were heightened, like too many people or too many sounds and lights it was difficult, and I became challenging.

When I was younger, I used to hide on top of the dog food while my mum shopped. No one never really knew why, I just did. It was dark, nice and cool and it seemed to calm me down. Life was difficult but people such as my mother helped me to understand that my disability wasn’t a problem, it didn’t define me, she taught me that it could be managed and it, in fact was beautiful.

37 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

getting tested

I remember when I was first getting tested my mum took me into the doctors to have a talk, when I reached the doors I didn’t want to go in, mum tried pulling me in and telling me we had to go in for a

bottom of page